Old Tree Under the Stars

I thought I would have another go at a star trail picture, however, I decided to do this with a new camera that I had not yet had a chance to get familiar with. In fact, it was only the second time I had used this new camera (I took a portrait for someone a couple of days before), but I had been wanting to use it for a landscape and not had the opportunity previously.

There was a bit of a struggle with it at first, and I was able to work through it, but the biggest issue for me was managing to get to the location of the old, twisted tree – I had recently strained a muscle in my leg, and walking on the really uneven ground in the pitch black night conditions after parking the car, was not the best idea I have ever had!

Once I got home, I really wanted to have a look at the images and get them stacked and corrected, but I instead ended up in a fight with Lightroom trying to get it to even open with all the constant crashes, let alone work and get anything done! So, even though these two photos were beset with difficulties from start to finish, I think they were worth it as it was a very clear night – unusual in the UK – and an awful lot of stars were visible. I just need longer to get more than a hundred or so shots in order to get more complete star trails next time. Oh yes, there will be a next time, I am a glutton for punishment!

Tree Under Star Trails

Tree Under Stars


Leave a comment