When a favourite landscape changes…..

SNETTISHAM_JAN2015

Snettisham Beach as it is now, sans old dilapidated jetty.

The above photograph is of a stretch of coast on Snettisham Beach in Norfolk, it had long been one of my favourite landscapes, but it used to look rather different to this. In fact, the feature I’m talking about had been standing on the beach for a very long time and takes a good fifteen to twenty minutes to reach and as I had not been and photographed it for a few years, I thought I would revisit it as a subject. I was disappointed to find that it is no longer there – maybe the heavy storms of 2013 caused a lot damaged to it, maybe it was wear and tear from the elements, possibly someone did the rest and removed what was left. Whatever the case, in roughly this spot, there stood the remains of and old jetty and it had been there for many, many years, and in largely the same dilapidated state. I think the beach is poorer for it no longer being a feature, and below is another photo I took of this same spot about ten years ago, hopefully you can see what I mean.

Snettisham Beach, circa 2005 with the old jetty still in situ.

Snettisham Beach, circa 2005 with the old jetty still in situ.


Leave a comment